Saturday 21 July 7.30pm
Approx 120 mins
Picture Gallery

C Schumann ~ Three Romances Op 22 (arr. Isserlis)
Fauré ~ Romance Op 69
Fauré ~ Elegy Op 24
R Schumann ~ Fantasiestücke Op 73
R Schumann ~ 5 Stucke im Volkston
Holmès ~ ‘Recitatif et Chante’ from cantata La Vision de la Reine
Franck ~ Cello Sonata

One of the UK’s greatest cellists, the renowned Steven Isserlis and his Canadian duo partner Connie Shih, bring a programme of great warmth and beauty. It includes works by both Clara and Robert Schumann, and features the Irish born Augusta Holmès, the first female composer to have a work premiered at the Paris Opera, in 1895. While this is his Music at Paxton debut, Isserlis has close ties with the Borders, having studied in the 1970s with Jane Cowan at the Cello Centre at Edrom House.

“Sensitive, emotional … electrifying … spine-tingling … stunning … This was a world class concert.” –The Yorkshire Times

Tickets £25.00 (concessions £12.50)