Saturday 14 July 7.30pm
Approx 120 mins
Picture Gallery

Pascal Rogé, piano
Ami Rogé, piano

Debussy ~ En Blanc et Noir
Stravinsky ~ The Rite of Spring
Poulenc ~ Sonata (4 hands)
Debussy ~ Deux Études, Berceuse Héroique, Pièce de l’Oeuvre du Vêtement du Blessé
Ravel ~ La Valse

Join the distinguished master of French piano music and his duo partner, on stage with not one, but two Steinways, for a concert of French music written in the period of World War One. The two-piano version of Stravinsky’s savagely spellbinding Rite of Spring – published before its more famous orchestral arrangement – was first played through by Stravinsky with none other than Claude Debussy. It is contrasted with the three capricious pieces of Debussy’s En Blanc et Noir and the programme ends with Ravel’s darkly glittering La Valse. Expect fireworks for the ‘quatorze juillet’!

“…the Rogés projected their playing with such a feeling of inclusiveness that we almost felt as though we were guests in their domestic salon.” –The Birmingham Post

Tickets £25.00 (concessions £12.50)