Saturday 30 July at 7.30pm (2 hr)
Tickets £23 (conc £14)

BBC New Generation Artists

Ionel Manciu, Violin
Leo Popplewell, Cello
Dominic Degavino, Piano

Cecilia McDowall ~ Cavatina at Midnight
Beethoven ~ Piano Trio in E flat, Op. 70 No. 2
Tchaikovsky ~ Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50

Formed in 2017, the Mithras Piano Trio has already won many of the most prestigious prizes open to young chamber ensembles and in 2021 they were selected for the BBC New Generation Artists programme, following in the footsteps of illustrious artists such as violinist Alina Ibragimova, the Belcea Quartet, pianist Steven Osborne and the Ébène Quartet. Cecilia McDowall’s elegiac Cavatina references the famous movement from Beethoven’s Op.130 string quartet, and Tchaikovsky’s only Piano Trio was written in memory of his close friend, the pianist Nikolai Rubinstein, and is accordingly a bold and passionate work.

“Sometimes richly tonal, sometimes more exploratory in harmonic range, Cecilia McDowall’s music is always full of invention.” –BBC Music Magazine

More about the artists
Mithras Trio