Saturday 27 July at 9.15pm
Approx 1 hr (no interval)
Picture Gallery, Paxton House

Schubert ~ Quintet in C major, D. 956

Members of the Leonore Piano Trio and the Maxwell String Quartet

Benjamin Nabarro, Violin
Colin Scobie, Violin
Elliott Perks, Viola
Gemma Rosefield, Cello
Duncan Strachan, Cello

It is astonishing to think that Schubert’s final, majestic composition was not heard in public until 22 years after the composer’s death. Framed by lively outer movements that bear strong Gypsy influences, it is nevertheless the profound slow movement with its beauty, innocence and pathos that plucks at every heart.

“A hymn which floats above the mortal sphere.” –Mark Steinberg, violinist, on Schubert’s Quintet in C

Tickets £15.00 (concessions £9.00)
Double Bill Package (both evening concerts): £30.00 (concessions £18.00)