Tuesday 23 July at 7.30pm
Approx 2 hrs
Picture Gallery, Paxton House

Brahms ~ Sonatensatz in C minor
Schubert ~ Sonatina in D major, D. 384
Ireland ~ Sonata No. 2 in A minor
Vaughan ~ Williams The Lark Ascending, original version for Violin and Piano
Franck ~ Sonata in A major

Tasmin Little and Piers Lane’s beautiful programme features two rarely heard treasures – Brahms and Schubert – and an epic sonata by César Franck that is a tour de force for violinist and pianist alike. John Ireland’s Sonata caused a sensation at its premiere in March 1917, brilliantly capturing the mood of the period and catapulting the composer to widespread fame.

Tasmin’s name is indelibly linked with Vaughan Williams’ magically evocative ‘Lark Ascending’, and we are delighted that she will play it in this concert with Piers as she starts her final year of performing on the public stage.

“One of the supremely great violinists of our time” –Music-Web International

“(…) a true collaboration” –Seen and Heard International

Tickets £25.00 (concessions £15.00)

Sponsored by the Patrons of Music at Paxton

POST-CONCERT: All ticket holders are invited to stay on for an informal Q&A session with Tasmin and Piers immediately after the concert.

This concert is SOLD OUT. For returns, contact Marianne Butler: 07950 686 454