Thursday 28 July at 7.30pm (2 hr)
Tickets £25 (conc £15)

Please note: this list is the full programme content and the running order will be different.

Schubert ~ Sonata for Piano No. 18 in G, D.894 – Movement I
Louis Couperin ~ Unmeasured prelude in G minor; Sarabande No.110 in A minor
Hahn ~ Les deux écharpes; Premières Valses: III. Ninette; IV. Valse Noble
IX. La Feuille; Narghilé from Le rossignol éperdu; Ouranos

Schubert ~ Atzenbrugger Tänz in A, D.365 No. 30; Waltz in B minor D.145
Fauré ~ Nocturne No. 12 in E minor, Op. 107
Franck ~ Prelude, Chorale and Fugue, Op. 21
Schubert ~ Sonata for Piano No. 18 in G, D.894 – Movements II, III & IV

Pavel has designed a fascinating and compelling framework in which to present Schubert’s ‘monumental but elusive’ Piano Sonata in D, taking his inspiration from Marcel Proust’s responses to music and marrying it with the writer’s stream of consciousness literary style. Some of the works in the programme are by Proust’s favourite composers, with the crowning glory being Franck’s great ‘Prelude, Chorale and Fugue’. In Pavel’s words, ‘It’s fascinating that as different a personality as Schubert was to Proust, they align so serendipitously in their magical pieces.’

“Pavel Kolesnikov, ever a poetic and daring player, constructed a tantalising homage to Proust. It obeyed none of the conventions of an “ordinary recital” and was all the better for it.” –The Guardian

More about the artist
Pavel Kolesnikov