Wednesday 21 July at 5pm & 8pm 🎥
Tickets £22 (conc. £13)

Haydn ~ String Quartet in G minor Op. 74 No. 3 ‘Rider’
Beethoven ~ String Quartet in E flat Op. 74 ‘Harp’

Music at Paxton Associate Ensemble
Colin Scobie & George Smith, Violin
Elliott Perks, Viola
Duncan Strachan, Cello

Haydn’s Op. 74 quartets were composed in 1793, shortly after he had returned to Vienna from London, and the set of six are characterised by striking variations in dynamics and increasing virtuosity. Beethoven’s wonderful Op.74 quartet, which owes its nickname to a harp-like musical figure in the opening movement, finds the composer in his most relaxed mood.

“…remarkable joy and energy [from] these Scottish musicians, ideal interpreters of Haydn’s mischievous jokes, sudden mood swings and lyrical ingenuity.” –The Times