Music at Paxton ‘Associate Ensemble 2019 – 2021’
Sunday 28 July at 3pm
Approx 2 hrs
Picture Gallery, Paxton House

Macmillan ~ Memento
Shostakovich ~ String Quartet No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 117
Schubert ~ String Quartet in D minor, D. 810; ‘Death and the Maiden’

Colin Scobie, Violin
George Smith, Violin
Elliott Perks, Violla
Duncan Strachan, Cello

Shostakovich’s ninth Quartet is a work full of contrast, richness, vibrancy… and a quotation from Rossini’s ‘William Tell’ Overture! Writing on the occasion of Schubert’s death, Schumann wrote “Only the excellence of the D minor quartet can console us for the early and grievous loss of the first-born of Beethoven.”

“(…) brilliantly fresh, unexpected and exhilarating…  an enlightening and enthralling musical experience” –The Herald

Tickets £22.00 (concessions £13.00)