Saturday 23 July at 7.30pm (1 hr 30)
Tickets £30/£25 (conc £15)

Colin Scobie & George Smith, Violin
Elliott Perks, Viola
Duncan Strachan, Cello

Haydn ~ String Quartet in G, Op. 77 No. 1
Prokofiev ~ String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 50
Dvořák ~ String Quartet No. 13 in G, Op. 106

Prokofiev’s first string quartet was the product of a commission from the Library of Congress in Washington DC. He wrote in his autobiography that before he commenced writing he “studied Beethoven’s quartets, chiefly in railway carriages on my way from one concert to another” and the resulting work has a distinct ‘neo-classical’ flavour. Dvořák’s Quartet in G was written a year or so after the composer returned from the USA to his beloved Bohemia. It is a spirited work, with an abundance of short motifs and a rhythmic energy that creates a spirit of lively dialogue between the players.

“The Maxwell Quartet’s Haydn is my kind of Haydn. Smartly and sharply executed, tongue-in-cheek droll, perky, playful and puckish.” –Fanfare, USA

More about the artists
Maxwell Quartet